Tip: if you are commenting on a blog post that uses Google+ comments, you can choose to share the comment with a specific person (e.g. the blog author) instead of public or your circles. When posting a comment:
- Remove the "Public" circle from the "Shared with" box
- Type in the person's name or email address
Only the person (or people) with whom the comment is shared with can view the comment.